Insurgent ~ Veronica Roth

Books are a magical thing. They get people like us sucked into their world and we start living the characters; their world they make you care about them. That is if its done correctly. One of those series is Divergent. Insurgent by Veronica Roth being the second installment in this series.

About Insurgent

 

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Series: Divergent #2

Published by Harper Collins

Genres: Young Adult, Dystopia, Fiction, Fantasy

Rating: 3/5

 

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you; but every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war; sides must be chosen; secrets will emerge; and choices will become even more irrevocable and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

Initial Thoughts

So as i expected I find myself with mixed views over this book. Middle books are usually filled with landscape designing, set up and transition for the next book so I usually don’t expect much from them. They always seem to be a let down. But Divergent is far from usual. And it’s ending?… In short the expectation to the second book was set pretty high.

I admit there were so many things I forgot about in this series. I had trouble remembering who was who — like with Tris guilt for killing Will (I can’t freaking remember who’s Will ). To my defense Divergent was blindly fast pace and with gap between the two books it’s a bit disorienting for me.

Review of Insurgent

Plot

Insurgent started directly after where the first book left us – Will’s murder, Tris parents’ deaths and the destruction of Dauntless and Abnegation, with Tris, Four, Marcus (Four’s father) and Peter, all on the run. It picks up exactly where it ended – on the train.

The first part of the story was already full of action. And better not compare the amount of actions in this book to the first one;  because this will give you no pause for time out. There is also a great sense of unease and unknown. As the book progresses, there are events which are so complicated and confusing. Because of all this it made the pace kind of slow. It at times was frustrating, like Tris (annoying-character-in-here) the brave, the sweet Tris I fell in love with in Divergent is replaced by this angsty heroine in Insurgent who is a complete STRANGER to me.

Four, my dearest Four what happened to him. Four or Tobias as dear Tris now so lovingly calls him, was not the brooding, sexy Four we knew from Divergent. He was selfish (a Dauntless trait), mean, judgmental and not likeable at all. I was not able to swoon over him (a girl needs to swoon!) and basically I just wanted to whip him with a belt (oh yeah, I went there).

And..

Insurgent has lots of loopholes and unpolished side that to my opinion is not that noticeable if you didn’t give it too damn time to criticize. Veronica writes with a believable heroine. I kind of hated Tris character in here, but it still believable none the less. The plot wasn’t boring. Saying this I am so puzzled by the characters’ behavior that I couldn’t really bring myself to read this in two sittings, like I did with Divergent and this had nothing to do with a lack of free time.

Closing Thoughts

I just hope Insurgent suffered from the ‘Second Novel Curse’ and Allegiant will be a lot better again.

I didn’t love this one quite as much as I loved Divergent; but it was still a solid second book and I’m so excited to read the conclusion to this trilogy in Allegiant!

“Cruelty does not make a person dishonest, the same way bravery does not make a person kind.”

 

Leave a Reply

