Eleanor & Park ~ Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell; a book soo hyped I don’t remember any contemporary book being so hyped up after Fault in our Stars.

About Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Published by Orion

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Fiction

Rating : 3.5/5

“Two misfits.

One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.”

Initial Thoughts

This book made me feel so many emotions at the same time cry, smile n laugh in the same sentence. It’s about two misfits from totally different world and falling in loove its much more than just that, it is such an amazing ,wonderful, heartfelt emotions in a novel.

Review of Eleanor & Park

So obviously I am guilty of reading this due to the hype and seriously I didn’t like the book immediately. Eleanor for me was way to bitter for my taste. I do like my protagonist a little stark and a bit of cynicism but Eleanor was way way bitter and Park initially was shallow,judgmental and superficial. I was like I don’t like either of the characters and how am I going to get through the book, but the best part about books are character development.How these two come together just with their love for comic books n music.

Character

Eleanor before I even knew it I loved her. I was able to sympathize with her and felt sorry for what she is going through and did not want to put this book down,I also really like Park because he was like a little sunshine in Eleanor life. This book stands out from other contemporaries because it’s a love story of misfits. Eleanor is considered fat, she has bright fiery red hair(awesome!) and dresses up like a boy. Park who is half Asian on other hand blends in with the popular crowd but is very quiet and reserved, and both of them land up sitting next to each other in the bus. Initially they don’t like each other but their relationship slowly blossoms and it is just beautiful.

Relationship

Eleanor has major insecurities issues she thinks she is fat and ugly but she’s not at least in Parks’s eyes. I love that this book had multiple Point of View. Eleanor always doubted herself and questioned what would Park see in a girl like her.Park would feel at times be embarrassed of having her as a GF but he knew he was madly in luv with this girl and would go any lengths for her. Eleanor’s family is a broken one really monstrous step father, a helpless mom living in a really difficult place I would at times feel that Eleanor plz leave the house plz. I really liked Park’s family especially his mom’s character development from disliking Eleanor but in the end relates to her and likes her its adorable. Even I like Park’s dad he acted like a jerk most of the times but he was nice.

And…

There is something so magical how Rainbow Rowell writes because I got sucked into this world and honestly her writing style is simplistic yet so breathtaking. She has a way of bringing out raw emotions that people have and bring them to light this is a very realistic book that shows how people are these days she doesn’t sugar coat things. She really keeps them how it is and I really like that. This book is a mixture of hope n hopelessness.

I really like the mild romance and then suddenly shoots up it really sweet. However the characters for me where little bit too sad at times and I found it really hard to relate too. For me I could sympathize but I couldn’t empathize with her.

The ending was soo frustrating, it leaves you unsatisfied because after what you’ve been through you want a perfect ending but NO but its left up to your own interpretation.(*Cringe*)

Closing Thoughts

This book was a good but not exceptional for me. I just didn’t connect with them the way a reader should. The plot was ok though. It happened kind of quick but it was a shorter book. I wished the ending gave us more though. It just kind of ended in the middle of the high point. I wanted to know that everything was ok. To summarize: It is good one but I’ve read better.

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”


Leave a Reply

