Lola and the Boy Next Door ~ Stephanie Perkins

Yet another Stephanie Perkins book that kept me up well into the night because I refused to go to sleep until I had read to the end Lola and the Boy Next Door a sequel to Anna and the French Kiss.Read my review on Anna and the French Kiss.

About Lola and the Boy Next Door

Series: Anna and the French Kiss #2

Published by Dutton Books

Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit

Rating : 4.5/5

Lola Nolan is a budding costume designer, and for her, the more outrageous, sparkly, and fun the outfit, the better. And everything is pretty perfect in her life (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood. When Cricket, a gifted inventor, steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Initial Thoughts

This is a companion novel to the Anna and the French Kiss. That is the characters of Anna and the French Kiss overlap in this book so it sort of happens after Anna but its still a completely new story and at a completely new location.

Review of Lola and the Boy Next Door

Characters

Lola and Anna work together. Unlike Anna, this book takes place in the city of San Francisco, which undoubtedly has left its print on Lola’s life since the day she was born. Because of the setting, this book was rather pop-culture-heavy, which was fun and added to authenticity of setting.

Lola is different. They aren’t in Paris, and Cricket isn’t a dashing, gorgeous Brit. He’s just a normal boy. A normal, awkward, amazingly sweet boy who I can’t even find words to describe.

Plot

In this story, Lola, a budding designer with a quirky sense of style, has her world turned upside down when her old neighbors, the Bells, move back into their San Francisco Victorian home. It’s been two years since she’s seen the Bell twins; and her last encounter with Cricket was a hard lesson that crushes hurt like hell. Well this time around Lola is determined not to fall for him again. Why should she? She’s older, more confident, has a sexy rocker older boyfriend, it’s all good… right? WRONG!

Lola’s parents, Andy and Nathan. Of course, they are not married. (this being before gay marriage was legal even in SF). I could not help the smile from spreading across my face when I realized that Lola has two dads.

Max… should we even go there? Max(*her older boyfriend) was an absolute moron, not even sorry for saying that. It was so irritating how through the majority of the book Lola wouldn’t realise her feelings for Cricket as-well as still thinking Max was a good guy, even through every rude thing he did, and how he treated her family/friends. Although I can understand why she’d cling to the relationship.

Lola and Cricket had me smiling like an absolute dork the entire time. There is no way I could have read this book in public because I swear I was making some laugh-at-me faces. I just adore Perkins’ style of delivering a slow building romance that blends perfectly with the flow of the entire story. As a reader, you can’t help but fall into the storyline and ultimately resist the coming of the final chapters. It’s the type of book you want to continue for endless chapters.

And..

There were parts of the story that reminded me of Pretty in Pink with Lola’s quirky style and hand-made costumes. Cricket was pretty amazing too in the fashion department. These two make a perfect pair. Also, it was such a pleasure to have Anna and Etienne be a part of this novel. If you fell for Etienne in Anna and the French Kiss…watch out! You’ll swoon for him even harder in this book.

As always, the writing is sharp, the characters are flawed to perfection, and the storyline is one that will have you smiling and sighing with love.

I won’t say anything more about the story itself, except Stephanie Perkins manages to surprise me with the depth she gives her characters and their circumstances. Lola made me ache; I went through each moment of impulse, confusion, and agonizing indecision with her. I laughed with her, I certainly cried with her more than I expected to, and I swooned so hard that by the last section I was literally reading standing up because I was FEELING TOO MANY FEELINGS to sit.

Closing Thoughts

Lola and the Boy Next Door is everything first love should be–painful, awkward, desperate, tender and so, so sweet. The worst part about this book is that I’m done reading it.
Seriously.

I know you aren’t perfect. But it’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.Just because something isn’t practical doesn’t mean it’s not worth creating. Sometimes beauty and real-life magic are enough

 


Leave a Reply

